Take 2, Tomlinson

American Pop artist & former boy band member of One Direction.

It’s typical when one member of a group chooses to branch out from the others and start dropping their own solo projects, but it’s not typical for more than one member to do so. With his former One Direction predecessors like Nial Horan, Harry Styles, and Liam Payne all releasing their own music with popular songs from each of their individual music catalogs like Horan’s “Slow Hands”, or Styles “Watermelon Sugar”, and Payne’s “Strip That Down”; sometimes the chance to go solo as well, can seem very intimidating. However, sometimes it can be the complete opposite when it comes to defining yourself as a solo act. Tomlinson quotes in an interview with Alternative Press, “I knew who I was in One Direction, but I’d never thought of who I am on my own as [a] solo [artist]. I was so in love with being in the band, that I really never had those thoughts”.

But Tomlinson has done well, so far, with already having one solo LP 2020’s Walls under his name. The album did well commercially, and even went to #1 in Argentina. Now, Louis is gearing up to drop his Sophomore effort with 2022’s Faith In The Future out November 11. Producers on the record include Dan Grech (The Killers), Joe Cross (Coutreeners), Hurts frontman Theo Hutchcraft, and Mike Crossey (Arctic Monkeys).

The first single off Faith in the Future is “Bigger Than Me”. Louis says of the single, “[Bigger Than Me] was my first moment of excitement making this record, and where it felt we were onto something which honors the live show. I’ve always strived to be a very normal, humble person in this life, but there’s a line to that and a responsibility that comes from being in that position… everything I do is bigger than me.”

I feel like this record, for Tomlinson, will be a breakout one and will strongly showcase even more of who he is as his own artist. However, I believe that Louis is right up there vocally with his One Direction frontman Harry Styles. Louis says of the new album, “If I’m being honest, I could have made a second record that would be a bigger commercial hit than this one will be”. He adds in a separate interview about it, “it’s almost a coming-of-age for myself to the back of my mind and thinking about what it means for other people”.

All to say in closing, Tomlinson has a bright future in front of him and I can’t wait to watch how this record will shine, and most importantly, how these songs will impact his fans. Pre-download for Faith in the Future is available on all music platforms now.

Published by Neiman Cruse

Writer, Blogger, Music Lover