Meet Megan Moroney

Newcomer Country artist Megan Moroney (Photo Courtesy: Official Facebook Page).

If your a fan of Kelsea Ballerini and her Poppy sound within Country Music, then you will love this new girl just as much. Born and raised in Savannah, Georgia, Megan Moroney was always around music and instruments growing up; with her dad in a former band and her brother who played guitar. It wasn’t until years later, that she was in college at the University of Georgia, that Megan started taking her passion for music seriously; studying UGA’s music business program. But, let’s fast forward to where this Georgia-gem is now.

After moving to Nashville, and gaining a musical following on social media from positing cover & original songs, she finally landed a songwriting/publishing deal with Sony Music Nashville and New York-based Columbia Records. Megan says to Billboard in a statement, “As a little girl, I did music for fun, but never had thought that songwriting, and being an artist, could be a career.”

Fast-forward to her upcoming debut album Lucky, set to release across music platforms on May 5, 2023. Co-written by Moroney with Casey Smith, Ben Williams, Sugarland’s Kristian Bush, and David Mescon. Next to the album, they helped her write the title track for the album “Lucky”. Megan says in a recent press release, “After we wrote the title track ‘Lucky,’ I knew I wanted it to be the name of my debut album… If you know anything about me and my story, a lot of things (both good and bad) happened to get me to where I am today, and I just feel very lucky. I couldn’t live out this dream without the support of my fans, family, and team. I can’t wait to bring these songs on the road with me this year and I hope everyone loves them as much as I do!”.

Hard at work on the forthcoming album, I feel like Megan’s debut record will stand out more boldly against other female artists. This girl is so unique and I love her Southern tone. Lucky officially has 13 slated tracks on the project.

Moroney is managed by Punch Bowl Entertainment, and to add, previously released a debut EP Pistol Made of Roses before working on her full-length album. Her song “Tennessee Orange” is doing impressively well on Country radio, as Megan adds about her songs to PEOPLE, All of my songs are very much me. I write from the heart. And that will never change. I don’t try to write songs that other artists could cut, because they’re so specific to me and what I’ve gone through”.

Published by Neiman Cruse

Writer, Blogger, Music Lover